House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Guest magnoliawalls

Deposit & Final Bills

Guest magnoliawalls

Our previous letting agency is withholding our deposit until we can provide proof that we do not owe any money for gas, electricity, telephone and council tax. The problem here is that the council are taking a long time to issue reciepts and until they do we cannot have our deposit processed.

Is this legal?

The deposit is for damage to the property. It is up to the council/gas etc. to sue you if you owe them money, not the letting agent.

Send them a letter threatening to take them to the small claims court, and next time round withold the last month's rent.

Every student place I lived in did that (when I was a student), but they could only hold it for so long. Some people never bothered showing the bills but still got their money back after 2-3 months. I just prefered to show mine and get the deposit back quicker.

I have been told by my local council that if a tenant defaults on Council Tax they will come to the landlord for repayment putting the onus of collection onto the Landlord.

Tax collection is often collected by putting the responsibility onto a third part to collect.

I would therefore think this is correct, remember to get a rebate from the Council as you would be paying in advance.

Guest magnoliawalls

Thanks for the advice!

Unfortunately it seems that Alba Residential they are within their rights to do this and can even keep the deposit for as long as they like - until they are satisfied that all bills have been paid.

This seems outrageous to me, it means that a landlord or letting agency can have a policy of just hanging on to deposits for as long as possible. I would certainly consider withholding the last months rent in future.