House Price Crash Forum

Although I don't understand enough about economics to say with any certainty how far house prices will fall or when, the one thing that re-affirms my faith that things will change is that I can't see a whole generation of people sitting back quietly and putting up with what's happening to them.

The BBC feedback shows how sentiment is turning. In the news, we hear that young people are being expected to pay for their education until they're 36 years old.

Those who are on the right side of this newly-created wealth divide might try to claim that things are different now, but that depends on those people who have missed out taking it lying down. I, for one, can't see that happening.

As an estate agent I am delighted to learn the news of today's interest rate cut. Recent months have seen a dreadful slowdown in the demand for property, much to do with a lack of confidence. This rate cut will hopefully bring any 'wavier's' (many first time buyers) into the market place. Coupled with a change with the lower rate of stamp duty, first time buyers should recognise a great opportunity!

Adam J Pritchard, Stourbridge, West Midlands

:)

"For somebody like myself struggling to pay a mortgage this is brilliant news. I was a first time buyer 2 years ago trying to get on the property ladder which I managed, but have found it difficult with the rate rises that have occurred."

Lorraine Abel, Walthamstow

Er... hello? You're finding it hard to pay a mortgage with rates at 4.75%?

Why didn't you get a long term fixed rate when you bought (2 years ago), as IRs were about as low as they ever were? Did you imagine they would go even lower in the short to medium term?

Is it really so tight that maybe £20 or £30 a month will make a difference?

What *is* wrong with people?

This is my favourite....