House Price Crash Forum
rainbow

Landlady Now Wants Me To Buy!

I have been renting this nice apartment for the past 2 years, rent was £950, reduced to £800 for past year. (Previous tenant paid £1200 apparently)

After I had been here a couple of months, the landlady mentioned she was uncertain on what to do with the property, so I made her an offer of £275K for it, probably worth around £300/£310k at the time, she turned it down.

Well now, almost 2 years on she wants to sell.

She had 3 agents round last week for valuations. She phoned me Friday and asked if I was interested at £285K, she said only one of the agents has got back to her so far, with a valuation of £299,950, with maybe a view of getting a close offer.

This agent is known to overvalue property in the area and although I didn't tell her I was surprised at the low price he put on it, wonder if it is because he sees it as an investment property and therefore a potentially quick deal for him.

Of the 2 other agents who ame round, Foxes and Connells, I got talking to the lady at Foxes, who said she would probably put a price at around £320K, she had a print out from nethouseprices, that showed the last one to change hands, which was No 23, on the !st floor, a 3 bed (ours is 2 bed on the 4th floor) changed hands for £275K in March 05. She was totally shocked when I showed her the original details of this property when it came on last August for £349K, her words were "Christ! that was a drop!", but what I found shocking about the woman was that when I mentioned how bad the Land Registry transaction figures were for the last quarter, she didn't kown what the Land Registry was :blink: and actually wrote the website down when I gave them to her. She didn't know that nethouseprices was based on LR figures. Incredible, I kid you not!