House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
getdoon_weebobby

How Much Further Do You Think Prices Will Fall Nominally In Northern Ireland?

I still think that we will see house prices fall nominally by 30% - 40% from current price levels. There is no sign yet of wage inflation to support average house prices above £100,000. And don't forget the under-shoot in prices that usually happens during a house price crash.

Not being flippant but in your opinion what is an average house?

Its not clear what you mean, do you understand what the average house price means? Its what the indexes refer to, just an average of all sales. Its not perfect just mathematically simple.

Its not clear what you mean, do you understand what the average house price means? Its what the indexes refer to, just an average of all sales. Its not perfect just mathematically simple.

Sounds a little condecending, hope its not.

As I am a chartered accountant, no I probably don't understand what an average is <_<

What I mean is that if people think the average house price should be £100k, what does this house look like. If I have an idea what it should be then I can work out what kind of a premium I am prepared to pay for more rooms, a bigger garden, a garage, extra reception rooms, a nice area etc, etc.

I guess the average house in NI would be a 3 bed terrace or semi. And in my area, that sort of house is still priced over £100k, in fact, there really isn't anything for under £100K, unless you go for a flat.

I would consider myself to be on an average wage, and the bank will only lend me £80k. So, the 'average' house is still unaffordable to the average salary. Thats why I voted 20-30% more to go, because I really believe it has to happen before the economy can ever recover.

Sounds a little condecending, hope its not.

As I am a chartered accountant, no I probably don't understand what an average is <_<