House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Si1

Austerity Baked Beans Being Tested In Germany - Less Beans, More Watery Sauce

Heinz Joseph from Germany said he was disappointed with the new product. "I was a student in London and bought them because they had the same name as me and I really grew to love them."

"I was delighted when they went on sale in Germany but then I realised they just don't taste the same. I think it's very unfair to German bean lovers."

full story: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics...aked-beans.html

Ha! We commented on this this evening - you definetly get less beans and more sauce in Heinz beans nowadays.

I'm glad you said that, I thought it was just me. But over the last year or two I have definetely noticed this. I buy Heinz as they are nicer, or used to be, and you could just heat them up and dish them straight out. But I am having to pour away some of the juice first now, or else your plate becomes a swamp.

Perhaps it's time to move onto a new brand.

I'm glad you said that, I thought it was just me. But over the last year or two I have definetely noticed this. I buy Heinz as they are nicer, or used to be, and you could just heat them up and dish them straight out. But I am having to pour away some of the juice first now, or else your plate becomes a swamp.

Perhaps it's time to move onto a new brand.

Too right; I hate bean soup. Been on the Branston beans recently, and they have been so tightly packed you can scarcely get fork into the tin. Currently on special offer (buy multiples of 3 individual tins rather than multipacks) at the hated Tescos.

What do you think?

I am trying to stop thinking it isnt all its cracked up to be.

I find it fascinating the small things that irritate people.

Guest X-QUORK
I am trying to stop thinking it isnt all its cracked up to be.

I find it fascinating the small things that irritate people.