House Price Crash Forum
Pauly_Boy

How Much Info Do You Give To An Ea Or Mortgage Advisor

So, I popped into an estate agents today to have a chat as they always seem to get there hands on distressed property. Anyway, he said that most companies selling distressed properties/repo's often want the mortgage in principle and solicitors details at the time of offer as they only want genuine buyers.

Now, I'm pretty good with money, so sorting out a mortgage myself is no problems, but he offered me an appointment with there in house mortgage adviser, who may be able to get better rates. Is it a good idea to see this chap, considering the EAs work for the seller and will then know pretty much everything about my finances so can push my offer up? At the same time, it would make me a prefered buyer as they'll be missing out on commission if I don't buy.

I'm a whole of market broker, whatever you do do not talk to the estate agent brokers.

If you want to get advice you will have to give information.

If you can arrange the finance yourself then dont talk to the broker.

....IMO there is a conflict of interest with EAs having 'in-house' mortgage advisers ...and for them to suggest at any time there might be a disadvantage to the potential buyer through not using them amounts to corruption ....we have Government offices of Fair Trading etc....etc ....why do they not sort out this type of practice....?... <_<

Edited by South Lorne

When we were actively looking to buy a property, we spoke 3 times to brokers attached to EA's. It was over a long period of time, so maybe one a year.