House Price Crash Forum
Thread Killer

Surely It Is All About Ripping Off China?

I have written a little essay on this. I'm no expert, and I am a STR wanting to keep my STR fund in good order.

What do you think? (keep to the big picture please).

My view is that the west has created the housing bubble to generate huge amounts of liquidity (cash + debt) with the intention of getting China to sell loads of goods in return for this money.

Then once China tires of this, the west will simply inflate the debt away.

(when I refer to "the west" I mean the governments and financial institutions of the US, UK, and other major western countries.)

Introduction

===================================================

We all know that house prices have risen a great deal over the past 10 years, so that the ratio of house prices to wages is now around 5, whereas historical averages have it as 2.5 or so.

The cause of this, as I think is generally agreed, is a combination of a house price speculative bubble, with a long history of low interest rates in the west.

But what has not been discussed is what is the cause of these low rates. Why did the west choose to have these low rates for over 10 years or so? Why has this huge speculative property bubble been allowed to grow? And why is it so much bigger than bubbles that have grown in the past?

I think the answer is China.

Strategy to rip off China

I think the west recognised 10-15 years ago that the combination of China's desire to become a major manufacturing power combined with a predisposition of Chinese people to save money rather than spend (and a traditional aversion to debt) meant basically that they could be stung for a lot of "money". i.e. coerced into providing a huge amount of merchandise and not be paid very much for it.

The Plan to buy products from China on credit, then inflate away the debt

I think the plan to do this was and is the following: