House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
polionamen

Recently Made Redundant And Need To Move

Hi,

I've been renting for a few years with the same landlord.

I split up with the partner, who's leaving soon and also been made redundant.

The rent is now slightly too high for me for the moment but I wanted some feedback on how easy/hard it is to find a new tenancy being unemployed.

I have strong references and I have an income insurance (paying 80% of last net salary for 1 year) so clearly money is not a problem yet.

Can you tell your experiences, which route is better (agents, flatshares, direct), etc.

Thanks

Hi,

The rent is now slightly too high for me for the moment but I wanted some feedback on how easy/hard it is to find a new tenancy being unemployed.

I have strong references and I have an income insurance (paying 80% of last net salary for 1 year) so clearly money is not a problem yet.

Can you tell your experiences, which route is better (agents, flatshares, direct), etc.

Thanks

IME Agents are a PITA in this instance.

If you don't fit exactly into their model of "employed earning X" then they don't want to know, even if you can easily pay the rent out of savings or some other way.

tim

IME Agents are a PITA in this instance.

If you don't fit exactly into their model of "employed earning X" then they don't want to know, even if you can easily pay the rent out of savings or some other way.

tim

So lie to them. They will be eager to believe you. Think about it - they just want to get the property let and move on. If it ever gets to the point where you need to provide an employer's reference, well, that's what friends are for. If you need to show bank statements as proof of earnings, then provide a downloaded (and suitably amended) spreadsheet, and say you do not receive paper statements anymore. Get creative, and don't worry about it.