House Price Crash Forum
lharenter

Important Renting Questions !

Good Morning !

I am fairly new to the renting game... and I am about to take the plunge... Would you be so kind to answer some very important questions for me.... however before I do... I will give you some back ground information about myself... I have never been out of work and have a salary well over 25K..., I have no major debts only a credit card bill which is managable.

The last company I was with recently went into administration and hence I am on the rock 'n' roll dole.... I work in the IT sector so finding a job "even in these awful economic times" hopefully would not be a huge problem in the coming months... The great worries I have and problems is that I am very apprehensive in going to a letting agency or renting because of so many negative experiences I have read from various forums including this one which includes... letting agencies, estate agents, land lords etc etc... I have been told that I am entitied to a benefit called LHA... over 500+ renting accomodation... My question to you is the following:-

1) What are my chances of the letting agency / landlord allowing me to rent with my outlined situation?

2) I do not have any CCJ on my credit report however I have a default... which was over 5 years ago.... and I only have one credit card as debt.... what would your professional opinion be for the chance of me renting?

As I said before... I have never claimed benefit before until the economic crisis hit the IT sector within the past couple of months to which I was a casualty of war... My credit is in order with a default back in 2004... over 5 years ago... All the other loans, HP purchases and credit cards...have been paid off in full and this shows on my credit file... it is just the two defaults to which I have disputed.