House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

the_dork

When Will Electric Cars Go Mainstream?

Petrol is only going to get more expensive. Whilst there's some scope for more homeworking, denser cities, less commuting, it looks like we'll be reliant on cars for a good while yet.

I'm no engineer but I find it hard to believe that a couple of billion couldn't get decent battery cars going. Maybe not for motorway driving but probably 80% of use, save the petrol for lorries and agriculture. However, despite all the incentives there must be, these just aren't happening.

When do you reckon we'll be driving electric cars? My prediction-At least another 20 years until they reach 30% of cars on the road in the UK .These will be relatively well off people though, the idea of people driving to minimum wage jobs will soon be over

When driving one makes more sense than drving a traditional car.

It is also scary investing a lot of money in an electric car if you buy a diesel golf you expect that it will remain desirable for a few years at least.

With a limited electric model you could suddenly be left with somthing horrendously out of date with depriciation more akin to a laptop purchase.

Prices at the moment do not reflect the risk or the limits of the cars involved.

Saying that I am considering a hybrid electric golf/passat when they come out.

Guest UK Debt Slave
Petrol is only going to get more expensive. Whilst there's some scope for more homeworking, denser cities, less commuting, it looks like we'll be reliant on cars for a good while yet.

I'm no engineer but I find it hard to believe that a couple of billion couldn't get decent battery cars going. Maybe not for motorway driving but probably 80% of use, save the petrol for lorries and agriculture. However, despite all the incentives there must be, these just aren't happening.