House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Frank Mason

The Waiting Game...

Hi all,

It's been about 5 years since I joined HPC; I was adamant before this that I wasn't going to borrow £200K plus to live in property developers lifestyle statement shoebox. During this time I know it was the right thing to do and by and large the evidence speaks for itself.

The problem is, I'd really like to have a house again but am finding the wait a bit of a struggle just recently; my instinct tells me to go looking next spring but it seems a long way off.

I live with my g/f in her flat; it's nice enough, but we'd like a house with a garden in a nice area etc etc She's sort of with me with my worldview on the economy & housing but every bit of +ve spin in the media makes her question it.

How are you all coping?

I am sure it will be worth the wait.

Frank

I'm a relative newbie having STR'd May 2008. At first, all went well with good interest on the STR fund and plenty of houses to look at. Now the reverse is true - a pittance in interest and there hasn't been a house worth viewing for months (apart from quite a few £100-£300k above our price range). We've started joking that it's pointless looking for a "family house" as the kids (12 and 10) will have left home by the time we find somewhere :lol: . While I think that prices must surely start coming down again we are getting fed up and can't see any sign of a decent house coming on the market in our price range.

Hi all,

It's been about 5 years since I joined HPC; I was adamant before this that I wasn't going to borrow £200K plus to live in property developers lifestyle statement shoebox. During this time I know it was the right thing to do and by and large the evidence speaks for itself.