House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
neon tetra

The Lost Generation

A case study for y'all (and why I feel part of the "Lost" generation).

This is based on something I had known for a long time but never really created the graph before.

I graduated in 2000, got a decent professional job with decent salary (above the "average" graduate salary). Since then, and one change of career later, my salary has risen pretty decently. However (and this is what has frustrated me the most) despite these increases in salary, I got less and less able to afford property, based purely on salary multiples.

In fact, in 2007 I was less able to afford than in 2000! ("average prices" being 4.3 times my salary in 2000 and 2008)

See graph (all values standardised to year 2000 = 100.0).

So I ask... If (moderately) well-paid professionals are in this position, what hope the rest?

Interesting_Graph.jpg

post-17162-1247944339_thumb.jpg

Count your lucky stars: you'll be fine in 2 years or less.

It's the people who actually bought in that period that are lost: they'll be bankrupt for ever in 2 years.

Guest happy?

This is based on something I had known for a long time but never really created the graph before.

I graduated in 2000, got a decent professional job with decent salary (above the "average" graduate salary). Since then, and one change of career later, my salary has risen pretty decently. However (and this is what has frustrated me the most) despite these increases in salary, I got less and less able to afford property, based purely on salary multiples.

In fact, in 2007 I was less able to afford than in 2000! ("average prices" being 4.3 times my salary in 2000 and 2008)

So I ask... If (moderately) well-paid professionals are in this position, what hope the rest?

Yeh, in 1980 we all graduated to nothing, no jobs, and a mad experiment in monetarism. House prices didn't just escape our clutches, housing was beyond our wildest imaginings.