House Price Crash Forum
doomandgloom2

Black Listed Proffesions

In another EU country where like in UK there is no housing crisis and the prices have fallen by 20%... and only one in ten mortgages gets approved.. the wise bankers have secret black list of proffesions which get point blank refusal when applying for a mortgage... so if you work in a car factory (understandable) or a bank (ha ha ha) you need not apply for a mortgage. Not gonna get it! Sure to come to UK in near future.

in Amsterdam the banks wont give prostitutes mortgages, which is odd considering they earn a fortune and its legal. Maybe its because they get old and smelly and thier income falls of at they reach 25 years of age?.

The principle of discriminating by occupations certainly is used by insurers.

When I worked in the cinema industry for a year between finishing my PhD and getting my first academic job, I was tipped off by colleagues to not, under any circumstances, give my occupation as a cinema manager or projectionist when applying for car insurance, as these are considered very high risk occupations and would result in a sky high premium (driving home late at night, often after working 12-15 hour shifts, possibly having had a drink or three after work, entertainment industry = drugs etc. etc.). I reluctantly concluded that it would be preferable to pay a sky high premium and know that in the event of an accident my claim wouldn't be disputed than to try to pass myself off as something I wasn't. But my colleagues were right - for that year's renewal I paid something like £410 to insure my Fiesta, up from £270 when my occupation had been a postgrad student. It went back down to about the high 200s when I got my first lecturing job. None of my other circumstances besides occupation changed during the time covered by those three renewals.

Edited by The Ayatollah Bugheri