House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
HPCbeliever

Approval Of Plans - Any Advice

I have seen a house I like. However the seller wants to have an approval of plans covenant. I understand this will give the seller the right to approve plans for changes subject to the withholding of approval not being unreasonable. Does anyone have any experience of this kind of covenant?

I have no direct personal experience per se, however my understanding from the case law I have read is that this type of covenant can be a major headache if you think it is likely that you may ever want to extend or otherwise develop the property at any time in the future. What you consider 'reasonable' may well differ greatly to what the vendor sees as such and since you agreed with the covenant on purchase there is little you can do about it.

The following link gives one such example: http://www.titleandcovenant.co.uk/pdfs/Dec08Newsletter.pdf

There is also the issue of whether you would wish to sell in the future and the likelihood of this covenant putting off other prospective buyers should you decide to move on.

In short, unless you are 100% certain you would not wish to make any alteration whatsoever at any time then steer well clear-why agree to have your hands tied over and above planning laws unless absolutely necessary? Plenty more fish in the sea!

I have seen a house I like. However the seller wants to have an approval of plans covenant. I understand this will give the seller the right to approve plans for changes subject to the withholding of approval not being unreasonable. Does anyone have any experience of this kind of covenant?

I have experience of this and yes it is a headache. Before making any changes, even replacing windows, you must seak permission from the vendor before even starting with planning/building regs.

It will put off other buyers in the future if and when you come to sell. I will never again touch anything with a restrictive covenant on it.