House Price Crash Forum

I was called into a meeting on Monday, by e-mail and informed that my job was on the at risk list...

The thing is I work in the defence industry and in discussions with my team leader today it turns out that much of the work expected from the MOD has been delayed or cancelled in response to the treasury cutting back. Why? Because they have given all the dosh to the banks... :angry:

It is a bit of a shock to be told that after 20 years you are surplus to requirements :(

Thinking about it Fred the Shred's pension is probably the value of the annual saleries of the 400 people likely to loose their jobs. And that idiot Darling says there is no need to strength the regulations.

The leadership of this country both political and industrial has been awful since WW2. Our once great nation, home of the industrial revolution, and countless inventions has been reduced to a hollowed out shell. It is about time they were held to account. Politicians need to understand that they serve us the people. Company bosses, particularly PLC's need to be held to account by their shareholders, particularly when those shareholders are our pension funds. What is the point of a ension fund if you loose your job 20 years before retirement...

Edit: Sorry it's a bit of a ramble / rant but I am really pi**ed off (and that is the first time I have ever f**king swarn on here.)

Edited by FTBagain

Sorry to here this.

I have been given the chop aswell which was a total suprise to be honest. I was just at the end of typing a long post on here when I was called into the office, thought I was being told off. Then having to just turn everything off and go home, really sudden, it's a similar feeling to a death of someone you know...but not so bad.

I'm seeing it as a good thing. I've totaly had enough of working for large corporations I find it soul destroying and after 2 weeks at home I can feel my real self emerging again.