House Price Crash Forum

Britain In Good Shape Declares Top Economist

HOLA441

Britain is emerging from the worldwide recession in better shape than many rivals, and voters should give Gordon Brown the credit, Nobel prize-winning economist Paul Krugman says today in an interview with Observer columnist Will Hutton.

Check out the rest at: http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2009/ju...my-gordon-brown

I just wanted to see how many history re-writting Gordon Brown haters out there would react to this nobel prize winners analysis and see if it changed any of their minds. I doubt it, a simple man likes nothing better than an easy hate figure. All responses welcome.

ps Go easy on me :-)

HOLA442

Back in the late 1980s, when he first came to effective prominence, I had significant respect for Hutton: once he became a NuLab Luvvie, however, my respect rapidly evaporated.

WHilst Krugman also has quite a heavweight reputation as an economist, I fear he is focused on the simple metrics of Quantitive Easing etc, for a serious systemic financial meltdown that with adequate controls on banks and mortgage lenders would never have happened.

Unfortunately for this facet, it is now abundantly clear, that much of the liquidity pumped into the financial system has been used to discharge bank etc debt to overseas capital markets (global interbank market e.g.) and the the process of Quantitive Easing has been highjacked by overseas holders elling back UK bonds and taking the cash out of the UK.