House Price Crash Forum
tired-of-waiting

Could They Give Me Notice?

Hi everyone, newbie here

I have been renting the same property for the last seven years:

1. Not been decorated since I moved in.

2. Cooker has never worked.

3. Old carpets.

4. Damp in bedroom and living room (after flood).

The last rental increase is barely manageable! I am considering asking for a reduction in rent as I've finished my degree and now have no income until I start work (if there are any jobs left!).

Can anyone offer any advice on the following:

What worries me is that if I ask for the rent reduction they may ask me to leave, can they?

They are a very very very dodgy LA, the worst in the town I live, but the LL seems OK. I want to send the letter directly to the LL as well, just in case the LA decide not to pass the information on to LL, can I ask for the LL's address/contact details?

Thanks

tired-of-waiting

Hi T-O-W

In answer to your question yes they could give you notice, but they could give notice any time!! Why do you continue to stay in the place if its damp, 7 years is a long time to be without a cooker!!! If I was you MOVE, your LL can't be that good if he has been increasing rent yet leaving you with a substandard property. If you really feel you must stay there get a severe reduction, but there is lots of competition out there now and no need to stay where you are getting VFM. The only reason I am renting is it is cheaper than buying, Don't be paying over the odds just because you don't want to move. Demand you get your problems sorted or move. Thanks my 2p. Hope it helps.

Hi T-O-W