House Price Crash Forum
Aunt Sally

Help! Ftb Mortgage Advice!

:unsure: Hello,

I would like to request some assistance - now I'm a Bear - I've been praying for a crash for about 6 years - it's hardly even been a skid, let alone a crash, in Greater London, but I am in a bit of a conundrum as myself and my Fiance are FTB's...

We currently rent a 2 bed flat in Walthamstow. We want to start a family soon and my Fiance wants to expand his business from home so we need more space and would like to buy a modest 3 bed house (preferably with a garage). We are currently in Zone 3 and want to move further out (cheaper houses) to Essex, Zone 6 but still commutable.

We are struggling to decide how to proceed with obtaining a mortgage as the market is indeed very bleak for people like us wanting to get on the ladder, we only having a modest deposit (despite saving for years and waiting for prices to fall) and so we are now at the stage where enough is enough - we can't move forward with the business or family plans until we have a Property. We need security of a stable family home for the next 5-10 years at least!

Here comes the Finance bit......

We have £30,000 deposit.

I have outstanding student loans of £400 per month

We have a current combined income of £65k pa (althoug this could increase as I have also started a business from home)

Current rent is £1,000 per month

Property values in our desired area - £220k - £250£k (average of say, £240k but open to offers below and judging by www.propertysnake.co.uk values have only fallen by 5% on the typf of house we want).

My credit is not the best (was a bad student) I have no savings and no pending inheritance

My Fiance has excellent credit

My Fiance is self-employed and has savings (not sure how much though but probably around £30k)

My Fiance also has a current 50% share in a 3 bed house with equity of around £150k (100% total value on inheritance).