House Price Crash Forum

Landlord Shocked At Bank Valuation

HOLA441

Just a quick note from the front line.

I have been renting a house in Surrey for the last 10 months. Prior to being available for rent it was for sale at £2m but the landlord considered the offers at the time too low ("I know what this house is worth" he said).

Last month the property was valued by the bank since he needed a business loan secured against it. The valuer did a full structural survey and sent LL the figure.

He was livid with the valuation (approx. £1.3m although I never saw it in print) and he refuses to accept it. I pointed out that the bank will value it at what they think it will sell for in the current market but he was not ready for this information.

Ever since I started renting we have been discussing the potential purchase but it would seem that the LL is so far removed from reality that we will never agree a figure unless I move out and it goes on the open market.

I have another 14 months to run on my tenancy. I expect prices to be lower still then.

P.S. The LL is a good guy. Just deluded.

HOLA442

I have been renting a house in Surrey for the last 10 months. Prior to being available for rent it was for sale at £2m but the landlord considered the offers at the time too low ("I know what this house is worth" he said).

Last month the property was valued by the bank since he needed a business loan secured against it. The valuer did a full structural survey and sent LL the figure.

He was livid with the valuation (approx. £1.3m although I never saw it in print) and he refuses to accept it. I pointed out that the bank will value it at what they think it will sell for in the current market but he was not ready for this information.

Ever since I started renting we have been discussing the potential purchase but it would seem that the LL is so far removed from reality that we will never agree a figure unless I move out and it goes on the open market.