House Price Crash Forum
southmartin

Online Share Dealing Account

Hi all

I'm thinking of diversifying some savings into shares, and want to make sure I can make instant trades without the need for a broker.

I see people like Motley Fool do things that might be suitable, but as i'm a newbie to shares, I thought I'd ask advice to see if there's any particular system that people trust and recommend

Thanks in advance

Hargreaves Lansdown (www.h-l.co.uk) are good for newbies, but their dealing charges for shares are quite high. They are fantastic for unit trusts though as they have 0% commission on most things. I have an ISA and SIPP with them.

www.iii.co.uk have a £10 flat rate for most shares which is better if you want to trade rather than invest. iii also have a nice free online portfolio system which you can use to test your share dealing on paper before you lose real money.

You also need to invent a stock picking system you are comfortable with. I stick to FTSE100/250 companies and have a nice technical analysis trading system using Bollinger bands.

Whatever you do, don't use Barclays. I made 4 complaints in 4 weeks about their execution and general handling of deals and then when I closed the account it took me a month to get my money back.

I use TD Waterhouse who are ok, although their platform is a bit backwards. iDealing are also good from my experience.

Hi all

I'm thinking of diversifying some savings into shares, and want to make sure I can make instant trades without the need for a broker.

I see people like Motley Fool do things that might be suitable, but as i'm a newbie to shares, I thought I'd ask advice to see if there's any particular system that people trust and recommend

Thanks in advance

Halifax is worth looking at

but as i'm a newbie to shares, I thought I'd ask advice to see if there's any particular system that people trust and recommend