House Price Crash Forum

65 And Potless

HOLA441

My brother knows a guy, just turned 65, who likes the beer, hasn't saved a bean all his life, has paid his NI stamps, is single, and lives in a council house.

The guy claims he's due State Pension plus Pension credit - about £140 a week, plus 95% of his rent and council tax paid.

I'm arguing he won't get the rent and CT component paid.

Am I right, or wrong? Any experts out there?

HOLA442
My brother knows a guy, just turned 65, who likes the beer, hasn't saved a bean all his life, has paid his NI stamps, is single, and lives in a council house.

The guy claims he's due State Pension plus Pension credit - about £140 a week, plus 95% of his rent and council tax paid.

Sorry, you are wrong.

He should have around 130 left after paying part of the rent/c.t.

Edit...sorry I'm no expert, just a wild guess!

Edited by council dweller

HOLA443

yes. he'll get the lot!...........£90 a week state pension plus about £30 a week pension credit and his council tax and rent paid.....but the rent he'd get would be limited by the Local Housing Allowance but i think it would cover a council house rent even for a single person and if not it would be 95% of it or thereabouts..The whole package comes to about £240 a week..............Makes you wonder why low income people bother saving at all because apart from the £90 a week state pension these benfits are means tested and having savings and a private pension would reduce or eliminate them

Edited by Michael

HOLA444