House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
nicolak

Pound/dollar

Hi everyone

I would be very grateful for any advice on the pound/dollar rate. Do you think the pound will sink any lower against the dollar? I am holding dollars which I brought last year and am wondering whether I should sell now, or with all the bad news coming out of here (UK) and the new president etc in the US, will the pound fall further against the dollar.

Many thanks for any thoughts/advice on what I should do.

I am a newbie posting not an expert so please nothing too complicated or you will lose me. :lol:

Regards

We just brought back $85k last Friday at $1.45. HOW STUPID (and out of pocket) do I feel given today's exchange!?!?!?!?

I've been watching it go up and down for ages and then the second I take the plunge, it strengthens like there's no tomorrow. That's currencys for you, as the last chap said. Good luck with it.

My view = GBP/USD parity Jan next year, if not earlier.

There you go.... I said it again! (Mad old Yoss, first it's Euro parity (18 months ago), then it's USD parity)

Yeah yeah yeah, same old, same old. (YAWN)

Yip Yip, I am a nutter...

Yip Yip...but a thankful nutter that's avoided GBP.

Thanks for the replies guys.

The graph is pretty scary DrGuid, the pound has sank like a stone already. I wonder what will happen now it's gone under 1.40.

Vindicated, that's a shame, but typical. It's so hard to know what to do for the best. I was considering selling the dollars at 1.52 and I am so relieved I didn't.

Thanks Yoss, parity doesn't seem possible does it? How have you managed to avoid sterling have you invested abroad?

Funnily enough I have brought property abroad and would make on the exchange rate alone if I could sell. Maybe I should sell up here and go and live in the sun!

Any other comments anyone.

Many thanks