House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
buzzardo

Has Margaret Beckett Broken The Law...

I know the article itself has been posted a couple of times already, but I'm intrigued by the legal implications here.

I'm not that familiar with the law in this field, but surely she's overstepped the mark in the media today? I recognise that the media are generally exempt under the Financial Services Act, but this article seems to involve a government minister actively giving investment advice to the masses...

Not something I'd get away with, as a mere commoner, so why should she?

Thoughts?

Best for a good weekend.

B

I was wondering this.

I'm a Chartered Accountant - you can be struck of for giving advice like this if you haven't properly researched the financial stuation of the person you are advising and don't explain the risks.

edit - spelling

Edited by Dunroamin'

I was wondering this.

I'm a Chartered Accountant - you can be struck of for giving advice like this if you haven't properly researched the financial stuation of the person you are advising and don't explain the risks.

edit - spelling

so how can we organise some sort of class action suit? can you imagine the massive impact we could have on house prices if a Govt. official was legally taken to task for suggesting that they are a good investment?

No.

Because this was said on the premise of people buying a 'home'. For a 'hard working family'. So they then become a 'homeowner'.

Hence it is not an investment, it is a 'home'.

The usual VI suspects seem to have made an about turn about this too. Suddenly forgetting about 'investing' in property and concentrating on it being a 'home' for you and your 'hard working family'.

Sickening.

Ironically - and rather sadly in my opinion - Jonathan Davies was hounded off HPC for publicly warning people of the risks of what Beckett has just encouraged.

IMHO FP did the public far greater service than Beckett ever has in this regard.

Edited by Dave Spart