Tuesday, Apr 14, 2009
Banks expression of free speech
Telegraph.co.uk: Goldman Sachs hires lawers to shut down blogger's site.
Watch out all at House Price Crash.
Posted by will @ 01:37 PM (1322 views) Add Comment
8 Comments
- If you do not have an admin password leave the password field blank.
- If you would like to request a password allowing you to add comments and blog news articles without needing each one approved manually, send an e-mail to the webmaster.
- Your email address is required so we can verify that the comment is genuine. It will not be posted anywhere on the site, will be stored confidentially by us and never given out to any third party.
- Please note that any viewpoints published here as comments are user's views and not the views of HousePriceCrash.co.uk.
- Please adhere to the Guidelines
1. little professor said...
But housepricecrash.co.uk isn't infringing anyone's intellectual property or trademarks, unlike the blogger's site http://www.goldmansachs666.com.
2. will said...
The sub headline says it all really. '---to shut down a dissident blogger who is extremely critical of the Investment Bank '.
Goldman Sachs will use 'intellectual property or trademark laws' to shut him up.
3. mander said...
Remarkable is the 666 number included in the domain name http://www.goldmansachs666.com. Maybe Goldman Sachs invented the Antichrist money and want to shut the blog down because of this reason... ha ha ha ha
Would the Antichrist money be like this? We have actives of 20 billion and we would like to lend 160 billion and do not worry because we have Credit Default Swaps in place...
So much about the Freedom Information Act, a bank with a lot of money should be able to shut down a small blogger or at least make him give up under the pressure of being taken to court.
4. pelethar said...
The story is irrelevant to us - it's blatantly obvious why GS would go after him given his domain name alone, let alone the content of the site. Yes it's a shame, and yes GS (like pretty much any other corporation) are amoral, but it has nothing to do with this site. It will keep the tinfoil hat brigade amused for a while though, I suppose.
5. 51ck-6-51x said...
Michael has not used their mark in any infringing manner and does not imply any connection between the two parties. Only the content is legally questionable I think, and I'm sure he has been pretty careful there (if not he is a fool that has not learnt from prior experience).
6. drewster said...
The real lesson is that if you're going to host a blog like that, put it in a country outside US court jurisdiction. Sweden is probably the best place, they're good at protecting freedom of information.
7. goweresque said...
I believe the guy behind the site has previous - he has had websites attacking other companies before. He reckons he knows the law on these matters, and will defend his site vigorously. GS may have a fight on their hands.........
8. rotten tomato said...
@ drewster in 6 above
I'm afraid not. Try and critique anything belonging to the "religion of peace" (is*am) in Sweden, and see how soon freedom of expression goes out the window.