Wednesday, Dec 12, 2007

Is the BofE sending us a message ???

google search: www.housepricerise.co.uk

anyone else tried this url.

Posted by hn @ 03:54 PM (1151 views) Add Comment

4 Comments

1. drewster said...

haha very funny! Was it one of us?

Wednesday, December 12, 2007 06:39PM Report Comment
 

2. Root said...

That isn't the BOE themselves, it's someone re-presenting the site under a different name for some reason...

Domain name:
housepricerise.co.uk

Registrant:
Ben Burnside

Registrant type:
Unknown

Registrant's address:
Unit 1 carr end farm
Glaisdale
YO21 2QH
GB

Registrar:
Fibranet Services Ltd [Tag = FIBRANET]

...whereas the real site...

Domain name:
bankofengland.co.uk

Registrant:
Bank of England

Registrant type:
Unknown

Registrant's address:
Bank of England
Threadneedle Street
London
EC2R 8AH
GB

Registrar:
Verizon UK Ltd [Tag = UUNETPIPEX]
URL: http://www.verizonbusiness.com/uk

...interesting.

Wednesday, December 12, 2007 06:41PM Report Comment
 

3. confused76 said...

UAHHHHH AHHH AHHHA HAHHHHH

too funny!

Wednesday, December 12, 2007 08:03PM Report Comment
 

4. Nmarks said...

Just had a quick look at the Who Is database to see who the site is registered to..

http://www.who.is/whois-uk/ip-address/housepricerise.co.uk/

Frankly I'm surprised that the Bank of England would use a .co.uk domain name. I would have expected it to be .org.uk.

The details seem suspicious to me. The domain name is registered to a private individual in the north, rather than the Bank itself. Is someone illegally masquerading as the Bank?

If it is genuine, why would the Bank feel the need to register www.housepricerise.co.uk?

I think its time to hand this over to the financial press for further enquiries.

Wednesday, December 12, 2007 08:38PM Report Comment
 

Add comment

Username   Admin Password (optional)
Email Address
Comments
  • If you do not have an admin password leave the password field blank.
  • If you would like to request a password allowing you to add comments and blog news articles without needing each one approved manually, send an e-mail to the webmaster.
  • Your email address is required so we can verify that the comment is genuine. It will not be posted anywhere on the site, will be stored confidentially by us and never given out to any third party.
  • Please note that any viewpoints published here as comments are user's views and not the views of HousePriceCrash.co.uk.
  • Please adhere to the Guidelines

Main Blog | Archive | Add Article | Blog Policies