House Price Crash forum: Am I The Original Dumbo? - House Price Crash forum

Jump to content

powered by
Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Am I The Original Dumbo? Saving a post "overnight"

#1 User is offline   BINCHY 

  • HPC Poster
  • PipPip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 51
  • Joined: 23-August 10

Posted 21 June 2011 - 04:24 PM

I wish to start a New Topic on the Board. I know that I can "save" what I have already typed by pressing Preview Post. I can then add to it or amend it and then press the New Post button to send it to the Board. However if I am unable (or do not wish) to complete my post at that time, how do I "Save" what I have already typed to come back to "later" (maybe even the next day)? I can see no symbol or instruction that allows me to "save". Can I "search" for the topic later if I have only "drafted" the post and not actually "posted it?

As I said in the topic title - "Am I the Original .......

#2 User is offline   BINCHY 

  • HPC Poster
  • PipPip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 51
  • Joined: 23-August 10

Posted 21 June 2011 - 05:18 PM

View Postdoccyboy, on 21 June 2011 - 04:42 PM, said:

I don't think there is forum software ability to save for another day. I would save my text on my own software -- amend it -- then copy and paste it.


Thanks doccyboy.

I think you may recognize me from the N.I. forum - to tell you the truth I was too embarrassed to post there - but - there is no hiding place - not even the I.O.M. forum!

#3 User is offline   Monkey 

  • HPC Veteran
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,967
  • Joined: 09-April 08

Posted 21 June 2011 - 05:24 PM

What i do is write some posts in word copying quotes and links where neccessary. Getting used to forum code ie img and quote tags is useful for this. I then get a spell checker and i can write the post over many "sessions"

#4 User is offline   BINCHY 

  • HPC Poster
  • PipPip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 51
  • Joined: 23-August 10

Posted 21 June 2011 - 05:50 PM

View PostMonkey, on 21 June 2011 - 05:24 PM, said:

What i do is write some posts in word copying quotes and links where neccessary. Getting used to forum code ie img and quote tags is useful for this. I then get a spell checker and i can write the post over many "sessions"


Thanks Monkey

I will apply myself to getting used to forum code and I'll get that darn New Topic posted (in due course!).

#5 User is offline   BINCHY 

  • HPC Poster
  • PipPip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 51
  • Joined: 23-August 10

Posted 21 June 2011 - 06:05 PM

View Postdoccyboy, on 21 June 2011 - 05:45 PM, said:

I said a few days ago -- there is no such thing as a silly question on the NI forum. :)

We are all there to help each other - not to nitpick or insult people.


doccyboy
You are hardly going to believe this - but - the longish post I have prepared for the New Topic actually, quotes you (attributed) as saying "there is no such thing as......"! Also, strangely enough, the text contains the word nitpick - what I am writing about is an idea I have and am looking for people to pick holes in it.

I hope to get the posting done soon and am following the suggestions made, to enable me to do so.

#6 User is offline   BINCHY 

  • HPC Poster
  • PipPip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 51
  • Joined: 23-August 10

Posted 21 June 2011 - 06:41 PM

View PostMonkey, on 21 June 2011 - 05:24 PM, said:

What i do is write some posts in word copying quotes and links where neccessary. Getting used to forum code ie img and quote tags is useful for this. I then get a spell checker and i can write the post over many "sessions"


Sorry to be obtuse Monkey but I am still struggling to get it. I had already prepared a long word document and have tried to copy (or cut) and paste. I can click on copy (or cut) on Word but how do I (can I?) "paste" it on here.?
Alternatively, I have tried to do it as an attachment - but that system only seems to allow me to attach a"browser" document i.e. with an URL. If I select a (the correct) word file using the Browse button I get a message back saying that I cannot use that type of file .

Any suggestions as to how I can proceed?

#7 User is offline   erranta 

  • Knows he doesn't know
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 8,716
  • Joined: 27-January 05

Posted 21 June 2011 - 07:11 PM

View PostBINCHY, on 21 June 2011 - 06:41 PM, said:

Sorry to be obtuse Monkey but I am still struggling to get it. I had already prepared a long word document and have tried to copy (or cut) and paste. I can click on copy (or cut) on Word but how do I (can I?) "paste" it on here.?
Alternatively, I have tried to do it as an attachment - but that system only seems to allow me to attach a"browser" document i.e. with an URL. If I select a (the correct) word file using the Browse button I get a message back saying that I cannot use that type of file .

Any suggestions as to how I can proceed?


The software goes wrong for me too at times/times out too soon - it might be cos of the ad/script blocker you use.

Highlight your blurb,> right click, > 'copy' > if it won't paste directly into the board with > 'mouse rt click, >'paste', use the Firefox? menu in top left > 'Edit' > 'paste'
(try to place mouse cursor in place where you want to paste first if it allows you! Click HPC board "preview post" to re-enable cursor in posting area if it won't let you)
(It's called 'Menu Bar' - if you don't have it enabled in Firefox right click on your 'tab bar' - click on "Menu Bar")

This post has been edited by erranta: 21 June 2011 - 07:15 PM

"The rich man's wealth is his strong city, and as an high wall in his own conceit." Proverbs Ch18 v.11
Whistle Blow!
You know 'IT' makes sense!

Exploitation & corrupt Government / Elite Rule? They have nowhere to hide if we all EXPOSE their corruption!

"Most propaganda is NOT designed to fool the critical thinker but only to give MORAL COWARDS an excuse not to think at all!"

#8 User is offline   BINCHY 

  • HPC Poster
  • PipPip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 51
  • Joined: 23-August 10

Posted 21 June 2011 - 07:22 PM

View Posterranta, on 21 June 2011 - 07:11 PM, said:

The software goes wrong for me too at times/times out too soon - it might be cos of the ad/script blocker you use.

Highlight your blurb,> right click, > 'copy' > if it won't paste directly into the board with > 'mouse rt click, >'paste', use the Firefox? menu in top left > 'Edit' > 'paste'
(try to place mouse cursor in place where you want to paste first if it allows you! Click HPC board "preview post" to re-enable cursor in posting area if it won't let you)
(It's called 'Menu Bar' - if you don't have it enabled in Firefox right click on your 'tab bar' - click on "Menu Bar")


Wow! erranta - that looks "technical" - but I'll give it a go.

Thank you

#9 User is offline   BINCHY 

  • HPC Poster
  • PipPip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 51
  • Joined: 23-August 10

Posted 21 June 2011 - 07:51 PM

View PostBINCHY, on 21 June 2011 - 07:22 PM, said:

Wow! erranta - that looks "technical" - but I'll give it a go.

Thank you





To all previous responders - I took the liberty of posting the question on another Board and got the answer I needed. If you wish to see what seems a very straightforward method of uploading a Word Doc to include in your post, it is on a Topic called "Technical Detail" (in the Off-Topic Board) and was supplied by "tahoma". It has worked for me and I am delighted!

Thank you all for your suggestions.

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users