House Price Crash Forum

My View On The World...

lee_81

HOLA441

Hi everyone

I have been lurking hpc.com for probably the last 2 years, and I have really enjoyed my time on it.

I thought I would finally introduce myself and tell you my story.

I have a Chartered Surveyor by trade and also a part time landlord of a number of student properties in Manchester. I also started looking for a property to buy (to live in) in London from around mid 2008 and finally found something in April 2010.

Now without question there was quite a vicious fall in prices from the end of 2007 until say March 2009, and I was actually wanting prices to fall further.

Why I hear you ask, surely you have a VI?? My student properties are pure income plays and I have no interest in selling them, I have long term fixed rate mortgages and what these things are actually worth is irrelevant. Conversely, gig falls in prices will mean some potential opportunities to buy some more. In addition, it would mean I could buy something bigger in London.

Well, as we all know, prices bounced rapidly and there were very few 'bargains' to be had. In fact I was amazed how many people actually had no need to sell. You must remember that anyone who bought more than 5 years ago, is probably sitting on fair amount of equity. Through my day job I see huge amounts of people who have lots of cash. With IRs so low there is also no benefit to save or put money in the bank.

So what are my views going forward...?

1. Interest rates are bound to stay low. Unfortunately the 'savers' are in the minority and no-one cares about them.

2. We'll get a good dosage of inflation. Property is often a good hedge against inflation.

3. House prices are not going to crash. Those who are waiting for them to crash should just get over it!!!! Low IRs and a potentially another dose of QE will continue to support the housing market.