House Price Crash Forum

Mortgage Providers

HOLA441

I've been viewing houses on and off for the past 3 or 4 years but have never really seen anything I've considered spending money on.. until now.

I have found a place which ticks all the boxes and is within my price range.. it is tempting enough that I'm considering looking for a mortgage in principle **just in case**

Looking around I've considered the following options:

Barclays - I bank with them and have always have good service.. but they are (through Woolwich) more expensive, have higher fees and tougher over-payment fees than most other lenders.

HSBC - Appear to have the best rates, zero arrangement fees and zero over-payment penalty BUT I've read pretty terrible things about them online.. such as Here

The Mortgage Broker at the EA - Being linked to the EA they have an interest in making sure everything goes smoothly which is a good thing. On the other hand they will nodoubt sell me the product they make the most on - A bad thing (plus pass information about my particulars to the sales agent which could undermine my negotiating position).

Does anybody have advice they could offer.. in the world of mortgages is cheapest always best or is it worth paying a little more?

Any recommendations/advice appreciated :)

HOLA442
HOLA443
HOLA444

check out discount brokers - ie may be able to get headline Barclays, HSB (whoever) mortgage produts cheaper than in a branch by refunding commission to you in return for a flat fee

Thanks Si1... not something I'd considered.

I have been with First Direct for a while and can highly recommend. Maybe its the fact you can do everything online or on the phone/by post so never have to deal with branch staff.

Interesting that you've had a good experience.. I like the idea of having a local branch so I can go in and "expedite" if things get stuck. That said, if they provide a good enough service that it's not necessary, all the better.