House Price Crash Forum

How To Buy?

HOLA441

"How to Buy" when you are ready which for most on this forum may not be for a very long time

As an agent I would like to offer some advice

• Put the offer in writing in letter form with your contact details
  • Give the details of your solicitor (telephone, fax, address etc)
  • Your offer in figures and in writing
  • Give details of financing (mortgage, cash, property to sell)
  • Give details of timing and how quickly you can exchange and preferred completion (timing can be as important as price to some sellers)
  • State what your offer includes eg curtains, white goods etc
  • Put down the reasons for the level of your offer and recent sales to validate your opinion.

Good luck

Edited by sutemiwaza

HOLA442
"How to Buy" when you are ready which for most on this forum may not be for a very long time

As an agent I would like to offer some advice

• Put the offer in writing in letter form with your contact details

I have never needed to write

• Give the details of your solicitor (telephone, fax, address etc)

Have a solicitor ready, ideally

• Your offer in figures and in writing

If the agent does not understand £, then you are sunk anyway, so a verbal offer should be enough if you come across as a credible buyer

• Give details of financing (mortgage, cash, property to sell)

In order of preference, Cash, Mortgage, Property to Sell. Don't be too keen to give the agent too much detail, or he might assess you as being good for a bigger offer, but make it plain if your offer does not depend on Property to Sell

• Give details of timing and how quickly you can exchange and preferred completion (timing can be as important as price to some sellers)

Agree

• State what your offer includes eg curtains, white goods etc

Decide what you want before bidding, but bid for the house without them. When the vendor comes across with an acceptable counter offer, agree subject to curtains, carpets etc