House Price Crash Forum

Buying Or Renting Land For Self Build- Any Tips ?

HOLA441

As per title.

My brief web searches to find land for rent or sale have been futile.

As mentioned elsewhere on the SB forum, I can afford more for the land, when saving on the build, but hardly any land appears for sale, not even at a silly price.

Any ideas ?

I'm wondering if land banks owned by big corps / orgs, that is waiting for planning permission / finance, would be leased out for temp live / work buildings.

These could be removed when they want to build

Edited by Saving For a Space Ship

• 4 months later...
HOLA442

I am a self builder who finshed building on their plot last year.

I just had a look on rightmove for my county and there are loads of sites. As I live in the north I thought to be fair I would try Surrey too and there seems to be lots and lots there too. Supermarkets hold quite a bit and builders hold a land bank of 3 - 4 years worth which is sensible as if they run out of land their business falls over. However they tend to be very large sites rather than single or double plots and they don't really impact the self builder as far as I can see.

In my experience 45% on the land 55% on the build - that is in the north - it is probably more like 50 50 in the south east.

If you are looking in London then you need to be very creative - or move away from London - I cannot stand the place.

Another thing to do is look at run down or derilict property - the cost of clearing the sight will be mostly offset by the savings on utilities and access - its all there already which is a significant saving and removal of worry.

60's bungalows are great as they tend to be on larger plots and can be in a dreadful state where someone has had them since the 70's and has not carried out much work since.